User tools

Lake Eyre Basin Intergovernmental Agreement

​​​​​​​​​Second Review of the Agreement​

On 7 September 2018 the Lake Eyre Basin Ministerial Forum agreed to release a review into the Lake Eyre Basin Intergovernmental Agreement, the second review since the Agreement was first signed in 2000.

The Final Report - ​Second Review of the Lake Eyre Basin Intergovernmental Agreement (the Review) takes a comprehensive look at how well the Agreement is serving the Lake Eyre Basin and its communities. The Review looked at the operation of the Agreement and the extent to which objectives identified in the Agreement have been achieved. The Review also considered possible changes to improve the effectiveness of the Agreement; to reflect new knowledge, emerging issues and institutional frameworks.

The Review was undertaken by an independent consultant in consultation with the Australian, Queensland, South Australian and Northern Territory governments and with input from stakeholders including the Lake Eyre Basin Community Advisory Committee and Scientific Advisory Panel and those who live and work in the Basin. From 23 March 2018 to 2 May 2018 the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, in cooperation with the Lake Eyre Basin jurisdictions, conducted public consultation on the Second Review of the Lake Eyre Basin Intergovernmental Agreement. A total of 53 submissions were received during the consultation process. These submissions were considered by the independent consultant in developing the final Review report.

The Lake Eyre Basin Ministerial Forum are now considering the Review’s recommendations.

Lake Eyre Basin Agreement

The Lake Eyre Basin is one of the last unaltered unregulated water systems in the world. In 2000, the Agreement was established between the Australian, Queensland and South Australian governments to provide for the development or adoption, and implementation of policies and strategies concerning water and related natural resources in the Lake Eyre Basin Agreement Area to avoid or eliminate so far as reasonably practicable adverse cross-border impacts. The Lake Eyre Basin Intergovernmental Agreement Act 2001 received royal assent on 1 May 2001. The Northern Territory signed up to the Agreement in 2004.

The Agreement established the Lake Eyre Basin Ministerial Forum. The Forum is chaired by the Commonwealth Minister for Water, and includes relevant ministers from Queensland, South Australia and the Northern Territory.

Six policies have been developed to support the Agreement:​

  • River Flows Policy
  • Water Quality Policy
  • Water and Related Natural Resources Policy
  • Existing Entitlements and Water Resource Development Policy
  • Research and Monitoring Policy
  • Whole-of-Basin Approach Policy. ​​